IT Council

Vision Statement

The Information Technology Council (ITC) of the University of Michigan envisions a future for the university in which:

  • Members of the community have the freedom to choose from an array of tools and devices that are supported by a common infrastructure.
  • Strive to provide ubiquitous access to resources, learning experiences, and colleagues at the university and beyond to meet the rising expectations of access to everything from anywhere.
  • Collaboration—supporting knowledge sharing, education, and research—is seamless and independent of time, location, unit, level, or institution.
  • Technology enables new directions and business models (e.g., lifelong and life-wide learning) that extend globally and beyond institutional boundaries.
  • Computing infrastructure and services are integrated across the core missions of the university.
  • Computing infrastructure and services are built to support innovation, flexibility, efficiency, effective use of data, and functional completeness.
  • Provide education, community support and resources to allow individuals to use technology to do amazing things.


  • Develop vision and strategic direction for shared information and communication technologies for entire university
  • Review and prioritize projects that align with U-M IT strategy
  • Individual members are responsible for representing and communicating with their constituencies



Member Role
Hana Bezark
Undergraduate Student, School of Information
Student Representative
Sol Bermann
Interim Chief Information Security Officer
Information Assurance
Mark Burns
T.C. Chang Professor of Engineering and Chair, Department of Chemical Engineering
Faculty Representative
Scott DeRue
Dean, Ross School of Business
Dean Representative
Thomas Finholt
Dean, School of Information
Dean Representative
Barry Fishman (On Sabbatical until 2019)
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Professor of Information and Education
Teaching and Learning Domain Steward
Kerry Flynn
Ross School of Business

Unit IT Steering Committee Representative, Vice Chair

James Hilton
University Librarian and Dean of University Libraries
Knowledge Domain Steward
James Holloway, IT Council Chair
Vice Provost for Global Engagement and Interdisciplinary Academic Affairs, Professor of Nuclear Engineering & Radiological Sciences
Administrative Domain Steward (Student Administration)
Patricia Hurn
Dean, School of Nursing
Dean Representative
Nikolas Koscielniak
Graduate Student, School of Medicine
Student Representative
Daniel Maletta
Executive Director of Information Technology, College of Engineering
Unit IT Steering Committee Representative, Chair
David Mendez
Associate Professor of Health Management and Policy, School of Public Health
Faculty Representative
Ravi Pendse
Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
IT Leadership, University of Michigan Campuses
Adarsh Rachmale
Undergraduate Student, Ross School of Business
Student Representative
Andrew Rosenberg
Chief Information Officer for Michigan Medicine
IT Leadership, Michigan Medicine 
Thomas Wenisch
Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering Division, College of Engineering
Faculty Representative
Usha Yeruva
Undergraduate Student, College of Literature, Science and the Arts
Student Representative