Generative AI Advisory (GAIA) Committee

The GAIA Committee was formed to provide guidance to the university community for the use of generative AI and provide strategic advice to the VPIT-CIO and Provost.


  • Provide clarity on generative AI tools, including strengths, weaknesses, new developments and future developments to monitor
  • Provide guidance for the university community on how to handle the impact of Generative AI tools for Fall 2023
  • Provide training and support infrastructure for the use of GAI tools
  • Solicit faculty, student, and staff input
  • Identify ethical and legal implications
  • Study longer-term implications
  • Mechanisms to evaluate and assess committee’s recommendations
  • Recommend sustainable management and infrastructure for future research/development/adaptation of GAI technologies & tools at U-M

The committee is preparing an initial report to the Provost this summer.


Membership List

Ravi Pendse, executive sponsor & co-chair

Karthik Duraisamy, Ph.D., Chair
Professor, Dept. of Aerospace Engineering & Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
Director, Michigan Institute for Computational Discovery & Engineering (MICDE)
Assistant: Esther Haseli,

Varun Agrawal
Undergraduate Student, College of Engineering

Brian D. Athey, Ph.D.
Michael Savageau Collegiate Professor
Chair, Department of Computational Medicine & Bioinformatics
Assistant: Theresa Nester,

Tazin Daniels, Ph.D. (audio)
Associate Director, Center for Research on Learning and Teaching

Kapotaksha Das
Graduate Student, College of Engineering

Nick Gaspar
Distance Learning Director, Office of Online and Digital Education
Adjunct Lecturer in Nursing, School of Nursing
University of Michigan, Flint

Anne Ruggles Gere, Ph.D.
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
Gertrude Buck Collegiate Professor
Co-Chair, Joint Program in English and Education

Cait Hayward, Ph.D.
Director, Research & Analytics
Center for Academic Innovation

Libby Hemphill, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, School of Information

Robert (Bob) Jones
Executive Director, ITS Support Services
Assistant: Rhonda Sheppard,

Nigel P. Melville, Ph.D., MS ECE
Program Director, Design Science
Associate Professor of Information Systems
Stephen M. Ross School of Business
Associate Professor of Integrative Systems + Design 
College of Engineering

David Mendez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Health Management and Policy, School of Public Health
Associate Professor of Technology and Operations, Stephen M. Ross School of Business

Rada Mihalcea, Ph.D.
Janice M. Jenkins Collegiate Professor of Computer Science, College of Engineering
Director, Artificial Intelligence Laboratory

John Rodriguez
Strategic Communications Manager
Office of the Provost for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Kayte Spector-Bagdady, JD, MBioethics, HEC-C
Interim Co-Director, Center for Bioethics & Social Sciences in Medicine
Assistant Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology

Theresa Tinkle, Ph.D.
Director, Sweetland Center for Writing
Professor of English and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
Department of English
Assistant: Laura Schuyler,

Colleen van Lent, Ph.D.
Lecturer IV | Posse 4 Mentor | Responsible Employee aka "Mandatory Reporter"
University of Michigan School of Information

Paul Watta, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
College of Engineering and Computer Science
University of Michigan-Dearborn

Staff Support

Mallory Kwiatkowski
ITS Senior Project Manager