IT Commons

Statement of Purpose

  • Consists of IT decision-makers from units, schools and colleges that provides a collective IT perspective in support of the academic mission
  • Builds community, shares experiences, promotes shared services, collaborates and innovates
  • Advises the IT Unit Steering Committee to ensure alliance between the U-M IT community and U-M IT governance for strategic IT priorities
  • IT Commons Working Charter

Providing Input to the Group

IT Commons members are interested in knowing what you think about IT and computing on campus or in your unit. If you have ideas or suggestions for your unit representative, please contact her or him directly. If your unit is not represented in this list, send an email to or fill out the IT Commons Engagement Form to request time on an upcoming agenda.  


Member Role
Kinnothan Nelson (IT Commons Steward) Director of Technology, School of Nursing
Scott Arnst Director Information Technology Services, UM-Flint
Ryan Bankston IT Acad/Admin Division Associate Director, School of Social Work
Brad Battey, Jr. IT Acad/Admin Division Associate Director, Life Sciences Institute
Matt Bidlingmeyer OS Programming Manager, LSA
Chris Billick Director of Digital Media, Michigan Creative
Traci Buckner HR Information Services Lead Analyst, UHR
Cassandra Callaghan Director of Dental Informatics
Tom Cook Instructional Learning Senior, Ford School of Public Policy
Moe Daraiseh Technical Support Manager, School of Natural Resources & Environment
Chris Eagle IT Strategist and Enterprise Architect, CIO Strategy and Planning
Joe Gorde Director of IT, School of Education
John Herlocher IT Acad/Admin Division Interim Director, Medical School
John Johnston ERP Business Systems Analyst Lead, ITS
Bill Kopinski Desktop Support Specialist Supervisor Lead, University Library
Greg Laman* Manager Computer and Instructional Technology, School of Music
TBD Operations IT Manager, Plant
William Manspeaker Taubman College IT Manager, Architecture and Urban Planning
Steve Maser Systems Administrator Senior, Office of Technology Transfer
Steven Mattson Associate Director Technology and Infrastructure Services, Engineering
Stephen McClatchey Manager of IT Services, College of Pharmacy
Colleen McCormick Manager Customer Relations Management, ITS
TBD Sr. Director of IT Services, Rackham
Reid Paxton ISS Manager of Instructional Computing Systems, ITS
John Peckham Information Systems Manager, University Musical Society
Eric Pinaud IT Acad/Admin Division Associate Director, LSA
Todd Raeker Research Technology Consultant, Advanced Research Computing - Technology Services
Ryan Schell IT Manager, School of Kinesiology
Laura Shelp Desktop Support Specialist Lead Supervisor, Dearborn
Carrie Shumaker Chief Information Officer, Dearborn
Cheryl Sobkow Manager, Systems and Services Support, Ross
Dan St. Pierre IT Program Manager, LSA
Dan Thompson Web Software Developer, Rackham
John Turner Senior Manager of Museum Technology, Museum of Art
Matt Vuocolo Dental Informatics Systems Administrator Sr
Lyle Whitney Programming Supervisor, Law School
Vlad Wielbut IT Acad/Admin Division Associate Director Interim, Public Health
Andre Zoldan Information Technology Director, Alumni Association

*Represents IT Commons on Unit IT Steering Committee